Be Well:健康且实惠的夏季指南

身体健康小贴士 - 26 年 2024 月 XNUMX 日

阅读时间: 6 分钟

身体健康小贴士

Be Well:健康且实惠的夏季指南

发表于26年2024月XNUMX日-阅读时间: 6 分钟

夏天就是享受阳光和与亲人共度时光。


如果您家里有学龄儿童,您可能会考虑如何让他们在今年夏天保持忙碌和健康,同时保持预算。如果您没有孩子,这个博客也适合您。

使用本指南在您的社区中查找可以在食品、儿童保育、青少年活动和住房方面提供帮助的资源。另外,还可以获取一些免费且实惠的乐趣创意 - 适合全家人。

食物和营养支持

健康的膳食和零食可以帮助儿童、青少年和成人获得活跃和享受夏季所需的营养。您社区中的资源可以帮助全家人吃饱并准备好玩耍。

 儿童免费午餐

 获得杂货方面的帮助

  • 补充营养援助计划(SNAP), 以前称为食品券, 快速息税前利润, 或基本食品援助,为低收入个人和家庭提供每月购买食品的福利。 在线申请 SNAP
  • 在食品银行获取免费的食品储藏室基础知识, 当您需要一点额外帮助时,例如大米或罐头食品。 查找您附近的食品银行 
  • 贫困家庭临时援助(TANF) 为需要支持的家庭和符合资格的准父母提供临时现金。 在线申请贫困家庭临时援助 (TANF)
你知道吗

你知道吗: 您可以通过购买农产品来扩大 SNAP 福利吗?参与活动的农贸市场和杂货店与您购买农产品的花费相匹配,每天最高可达 25 美元或更多。请咨询您当地的参与市场,了解其每日匹配金额。了解谁在您所在地区提供 SNAP Match: 农贸市场 | 杂货商店 | 奖励

  • 妇女、婴儿和儿童 (WIC) 营养计划 帮助家庭获得健康食品。该计划适用于孕妇、新手父母、婴儿和 5 岁以下儿童。如果您有资格获得 TANF 或 SNAP,您也可能有资格获得 WIC。 在线申请 WIC
  • 转移现金援助 (DCA) 对于有短期需求但未领取贫困家庭临时援助 (TANF) 的家庭来说,也可能是一种选择。 在线申请 DCA

您还可以通过致电申请这些计划 877-501-2233 或访问您当地的社区服务办公室。

CHPW的 社区支持服务团队 是来帮忙的。我们可以与您讨论您的选择,并帮助您获得所需的支持。

负担得起的儿童保育和青少年计划

暑期项目是儿童和青少年保持安全和社交的好方法。查看这些资源以支持儿童保育和青少年活动。

工作联系儿童保育 (WCCC) 帮助家庭在父母上班或看病时支付育儿费用。 了解 WCCC 资格

季节性儿童保育 补贴 帮助在农业环境中工作的父母支付托儿费用。 查看您是否符合资格以及如何申请

行货 学龄护理 课程在放学前、放学后以及暑假和假期期间进行。要查找您附近有执照的托儿所, 与华盛顿儿童保育意识联系

男孩女孩俱乐部 通过课后和暑期项目、性格发展、支持、安全感和指导帮助孩子们发挥潜力。 获取有关男孩女孩俱乐部福利的更多详细信息

你知道吗

你知道吗: Apple Health (Medicaid) 计划包括针对 6 至 18 岁儿童的 Boys & Girls Club 免费会员资格。

您还可以向社区中的当地组织寻求其他儿童计划。检查您当地的公园和娱乐部门、基督教青年会、图书馆、学区、信仰社区以及您所在县和市的网站。

帮助解决住房、支付租金或寻找庇护所的问题

任何季节都会有困难时期。了解您附近有住房和避难所方面的支持 - 无论是帮助支付租金、寻找安全的去处,还是在外面非常炎热时保持凉爽。

住房援助。 使用此 政府网站 寻找您所在地区的租赁援助,包括 低收入住房过夜或紧急避难所。如果您找不到您所在地区的任何计划,请致电 2-1-1 或当地住房管理局寻求帮助。

紧急现金援助。 一些非营利组织,例如 犹太家庭服务救世军和 天主教社区服务 可能会提供紧急现金援助。(请注意,一些组织,如天主教社区服务,要求申请人通过其所在地区的协调入境程序。详细了解 在线协调录入或拨打 2-1-1 获取直接帮助。)

当地的避暑场所。 当气温升高时,当地的降温中心可能会在您所在的地区开放,并且可以免费使用。如果您无家可归,请致电 2-1-1,了解当地避暑所的信息和帮助。 寻找冷却中心

免费且低成本的家庭活动

当我们与所爱的人共度时光时,我们会留下最美好的回忆。发挥创意,知道您不必花钱就能为家人创造特别的时刻。您可能会对您的社区提供的免费且低成本的活动之多感到惊讶!

在动物园度过一天! 西雅图的伍德兰公园动物园为接受 SNAP 或 WIC 等食品福利的家庭、DSHS 亲属看护者和寄养看护者提供折扣门票。寻找“探索门票”定价。 计划您的访问并在线购买门票

参观博物馆 为儿童和成人提供一个有趣的下午活动。接受食品援助的家庭和个人只需出示 EBT、P-EBT、CHIP、Provider One、WIC 或 Apple Health 卡和身份证即可享受特别折扣。寻找“全民博物馆”定价。 查找您附近参与的博物馆

探索户外。 华盛顿拥有 140 多个州立公园、历史遗迹和步道可供探索。在大自然中散步、野餐、在操场上玩耍或游泳。只要记得带防晒霜就可以了! 寻找您附近的公园

你知道吗
你知道吗: 华盛顿州的一些州立公园、步道起点和其他州立休闲用地需要使用探索停车通行证才能进入。为了避免购买通行证,请在免费日参观。  查看哪些天可以免费停车

前往码头岛旅行。 在华盛顿西部,从埃弗里特港乘船(3-5 美元)前往码头岛。在这里,您可以享受普吉特海湾最长的沙滩,并可以在温暖的浅水中游泳。 查看渡轮时刻表

在斯波坎戏水池玩耍。 在华盛顿州东部,斯波坎拥有 19 个戏水池或公共水上乐园。斯波坎谷 (Spokane Valley) 的马尼托公园 (Manito Park) 和探索游乐场 (Discovery Playground) 是两个热门景点。免费访问。  寻找斯波坎防溅垫

CHPW 随时为您服务

我们在这里帮助您度过一个有趣而健康的夏天。如果您是 CHPW Apple Health 会员,如果您有任何疑问或需要获取资源方面的帮助,请联系 CHPW 的社区支持服务团队。您可以发送电子邮件至 [电子邮件保护]创建新电子邮件.

来自 CHPW Connections 的更多夏季资源

我们相信您是您所需的专家。您对 CHPW 如何更好地为您提供支持有什么想法吗?您有兴趣分享您的经验并帮助我们制定更好的健康计划吗? 了解加入 CHPW 会员咨询委员会是否适合您

评论被关闭。

本网站所有者已承诺确保可访问性和包容性,请使用本网站上的联系表报告您遇到的任何问题。本网站使用 WP ADA 合规性检查插件来增强可访问性。

Be Well: Your guide to a healthy and affordable summer

Be Well Health Tips - June 5th, 2024

Reading Time: 6 Minute/s

Be Well Health Tips

Be Well: Your guide to a healthy and affordable summer

Posted on June 5th, 2024 - Reading Time: 6 Minute/s

Summer is all about fun in the sun and spending time with loved ones.


If you have school-aged kids at home, you may be thinking about how to keep them busy and healthy this summer while staying on a budget. If you don’t have kids, this blog is for you too.

Use this guide to find resources in your community that can help with food, childcare, youth activities, and housing. Plus, get some ideas for free and affordable fun – for the whole family.

Food and nutrition support

Healthy meals and snacks help kids, teens, and adults get the nutrition they need to be active and enjoy the summer months. There are resources in your community that can help keep the whole family fed and ready for fun.

 Free lunches for kids

  • Free Summer Meals are available for kids and teens at parks, community centers, schools, and faith-based organizations in your community. Find a Free Summer Meals Site near you
  • USDA’s Summer Electronic Benefit Transfer Program for Children (Summer EBT), known as SUN Bucks in Washington, will start in summer 2024 to provide grocery-buying benefits to low-income families with school-aged children when schools are closed for the summer. Get more details about SUN Bucks -> 

 Get help with groceries

  • The Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), formerly known as Food Stamps, SNAP EBT, or Basic Food assistance, provides monthly benefits for individuals and families with low incomes to buy food. Apply for SNAP online
  • Get no-cost pantry basics at food banks, like rice or canned goods, when you need a little extra help. Find a food bank near you 
  • Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) provides temporary cash for families who need support and expecting parents who qualify. Apply for TANF online
Did you know

Did you know: You can stretch your SNAP benefits by buying produce? Participating farmers markets and grocery stores match what you spend on produce, up to $25 or more per day. Check with your local participating market for their daily match amount.Find out who offers SNAP Match in your area: Farmers markets | Grocery stores | Rewards

  • Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) Nutrition Program helps families get healthy food. The program is for pregnant people, new parents, infants, and children under age 5.  If you qualify for TANF or SNAP, you may be eligible for WIC too. Apply for WIC online
  • Diversion Cash Assistance (DCA) may also be an option for families who have a short-term need and do not receive TANF. Apply for DCA online

You can also apply for these programs by calling 877-501-2233 or by visiting your local Community Services Office.

CHPW’s Community Support Services team is here to help. We can chat with you about your options and help you get the support you need.

Affordable childcare and youth programs

Summer programs are a great way for kids and teens to stay safe and social. Take a look at these resources for support with childcare and youth activities.

Working Connections Child Care (WCCC) helps families pay for childcare while parents are at work or medical appointments. Read about WCCC eligibility

Seasonal Child Care subsidies help parents who work in agricultural settings pay for childcare. See if you qualify and how to apply

Licensed School-Age Care programs operate before and after school and during summer and holiday breaks. To find licensed childcare near you, connect with Child Care Aware of Washington

Boys & Girls Club helps kids achieve their potential with after-school and summer programs, character development, support, security, and mentorship. Get more details about the Boys & Girls Club benefit

Did you know

Did you know: Apple Health (Medicaid) plans include free membership to the Boys & Girls Club, for kids aged 6 to 18.

You can also look to local organizations in your community for additional kids’ programs. Check your local parks and recreation department, YMCA, library, school district, communities of faith, and your county and city websites.

Help with housing, paying rent, or finding shelter

Tough times happen in any season. Know you have support near you for housing and shelter – whether it’s help paying rent, finding a safe place to go, or keeping cool when it gets really hot outside.

Housing assistance. Use this government website to look for rental assistance in your area, including low-income housing and overnight or emergency shelters. If you cannot find any programs in your area, call 2-1-1 or your local housing authority for assistance.

Emergency cash assistance. Some nonprofits like Jewish Family ServicesSalvation Army, and Catholic Community Services may offer emergency cash assistance.

Local cooling shelters. When temperatures get hot, local cooling centers may open in your area and are free to access. For local cooling shelter information and help if you are experiencing homelessness, call 2-1-1. Find a Cooling Center

Free and low-cost family activities

We make the best memories when we spend time with our loved ones. Get creative and know you don’t have to spend money to make special moments for your family. You may be surprised by how many free and low-cost activities your community offers!

Spend the day at the Zoo! The Woodland Park Zoo in Seattle provides reduced-cost tickets to families receiving food benefits like SNAP or WIC, DSHS kinship caregivers, and foster caregivers. Look for “Discover Ticket” pricing. Plan your visit and buy your tickets online

Visit a museum for an afternoon of fun activities for kids and adults. A special discounted rate is available to families and individuals receiving food assistance, by showing an EBT, P-EBT, CHIP, Provider One, WIC, or Apple Health card and ID. Look for “Museums for All” pricing. Find participating museums near you

Explore the outdoors. Washington has more than 140 state parks, historic sites, and trails to explore. Take a nature walk, have a picnic, play on the playground, or enjoy a swim. Just remember to bring sunscreen! Find a park near you

Did you know
Did you know: Some state parks, trailheads, and other state recreational lands in Washington require a Discover Parking Pass to access. To avoid buying a pass, visit on a Free Day.  See which days are free to park

Take a trip to Jetty Island. In Western Washington, from the Port of Everett, take a boat ride ($3-$5) to Jetty Island. Here you can enjoy the longest sandy beach in Puget Sound, and shallow warm water to swim in. View the ferry schedule

Play at a Spokane Splash Pads. In Eastern Washington, Spokane is home to 19 splash pads, or public water parks. Two popular spots are at Manito Park and Discovery Playground in the Spokane Valley. Free to access.  Find a Spokane Splash Pad

CHPW is here for you

We are here to help you have a fun and healthy summer. If you’re a CHPW Apple Health member, contact CHPW’s Community Support Services team if you have any questions or need help getting resources. You can email them at [email protected].

More summer resources from CHPW Connections

We believe you are the expert on what you need. Do you have ideas about how CHPW could better support you? Are you interested in sharing your experience and helping us build a better health plan? See if joining a CHPW Member Advisory Council is right for you

Comments are closed.

The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.